Tata Aims for 5-Star Safety Rating Rangewide

Tata Aims for 5-Star Safety Rating Rangewide

In an era where safety standards in the automobiles are becoming increasingly important, and the Tata Motors is solidifying its commitment to be ensuring safer mobility for its customers. Mohan Savarkar, the Chief Product Officer of Tata Motors Passenger Vehicles, emphasised the company’s longstanding dedication to safety, dating back to 1997 when they established an in-house crash test lab in Pune, even before the launch of the Indica. Looking ahead, Tata Motors sets its sights on achieving a 5-star safety rating from the Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (BNCAP) for its next-generation Tiago and Tigor models. Savarkar views BNCAP as an aspirational benchmark for safety, emphasising the importance of offering six airbags as a prerequisite for this rating. In a bold and ambitious move, Tata Motors, one of India's leading automotive manufacturers, has set its sights on achieving a 5-star safety rating across its entire vehicle lineup.

Tata Aims for 5-Star Safety Rating Rangewide - portrait
Tata Aims for 5-Star Safety 

Key Highlights of Tata's Safety Initiative

  1. Advanced Safety Features: Tata Motors' quest for a 5-star safety rating rangewide is underpinned by the integration of advanced safety features and technologies in its vehicles. From reinforced body structures to active safety systems such as ABS (Anti-lock Braking System), EBD (Electronic Brakeforce Distribution), and ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Tata vehicles are designed to provide comprehensive protection in the event of a collision or emergency.
  2. Crash Test Performance: Achieving a 5-star safety rating requires vehicles to undergo rigorous crash testing and evaluation according to internationally recognized safety standards such as those set by Global NCAP (New Car Assessment Programme).
  3. Structural Integrity: Central to Tata's safety philosophy is the concept of structural integrity, which involves designing vehicles with strong and durable body structures capable of withstanding impacts and protecting occupants in the event of a crash.
  4. Focus on Pedestrian Safety: In addition to protecting vehicle occupants, Tata Motors places a strong emphasis on pedestrian safety, designing vehicles with features such as energy-absorbing structures, impact-resistant bonnets, and pedestrian-friendly front-end designs.
  5. Safety Education and Awareness: Tata Motors is mindful of the importance that safety awareness and education are to creating a responsible driving and road safety culture.

Implications for the Indian Automotive Industry

Tata Motors' commitment to achieving a 5-star safety rating rangewide is expected to have far-reaching implications for the Indian automotive industry. The regulatory landscape in India is evolving, with initial discussions of mandating six airbags in all new cars transitioning into a voluntary approach under the BNCAP regime.

The new generation Tiago and Tigor are likely to get substantial changes with a new platform. Both the models will get the latest design language featuring stylish design elements. We can expect a long list of new features along with the additional safety features on offer.