Chennai Street Race 2023 Postponed to 2024 Due to Cyclone

Chennai Street Race 2023 Postponed to 2024 Due to Cyclone


Eagerly anticipated, the Chennai Formula Racing Circuit, a novel street circuit set around Island Grounds in the vibrant city, was gearing up to host night races for both the Formula 4 (F4) Indian Championship and the Indian Racing League this year. Unfortunately, the excitement hit a roadblock as Cyclone Michaung struck, causing extensive flooding in Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh. The races, originally scheduled for December 9-10, had to be canceled, leading to a comprehensive reassessment of the entire 2023 racing season.

Chennai Street Circuit Debut Deferred

Despite securing FIA certification and all necessary permissions, the Chennai street circuit, poised for a spectacular debut, faced an unforeseen setback. In the aftermath of Cyclone Michaung, the Tamil Nadu Government, prioritizing safety, requested Racing Promotions Private Limited (RPPL), the event organizers, to reschedule the races. Technical constraints and potential scheduling conflicts with the circuit's technical partner, MP Motorsport, rendered finding an alternative date within the current season unfeasible. Consequently, in collaboration with the Tamil Nadu Government, the decision was made to defer the inaugural races on the Chennai street track to the upcoming racing season in 2024.

Impact on 2023 Racing Season

The cancellation of the Chennai street circuit round had a cascading effect on the overall 2023 racing season. Originally designed to feature diverse circuits, the season is now consolidated solely at the Madras International Circuit. Notably, the season opener, initially planned for the Hyderabad Street Circuit, underwent a last-minute relocation to the Madras International Circuit due to unforeseen circumstances related to elections in Telangana.

Indian Racing League (IRL) Updates

The 2023 Indian Racing League (IRL) underwent significant adjustments to its calendar. Shortened to three rounds, the championship concluded with Goa Aces' Raoul Hyman and Sohil Shah securing the title. Concurrently, the Bangalore Speedsters, featuring drivers Kyle Kumaran, Sarah Moore, Oliver Webb, and Ashwin Datta, clinched the Teams' Championship.

Additional F4 Indian Championship Round

To compensate for the postponed Chennai street circuit round, an additional round of the F4 Indian Championship is now scheduled at the Madras International Circuit this weekend. Beyond determining the overall winner, this event offers coveted Super Licence points, drawing young talents from around the world. Participants will showcase their skills using the FIA-homologated Gen 2 Mygale F4 car, a vehicle also prominently featured in the esteemed French F4 championship.